Sarah Lawson

Sarah Lawson
Executive Director

Sarah studied film and media at the University of Virginia and co-founded The Bridge Film Series before moving to New York to work as a book designer and being selected as a resident documentary film curator at UnionDocs. She moved back to Charlottesville in 2009 and started working for PCA as Communications Manager, assuming the role of Executive Director in 2012. She currently serves on advisory boards for the Virginia Film Festival and WTJU 91.1FM. Outside of PCA, she has worked on a variety of local arts initiatives, including CommonPlace Arts and the Charlottesville Mural Project. Her interests include public art and creative placemaking, economic development through the arts, travel, gardening, bookmaking, and design.

Carly Griffith

Carly Griffith
Communications & Cultural Plan Coordinator

Carly began her work with PCA in 2013 as a Research Assistant for Create Charlottesville: A Cultural Plan for Charlottesville/Albemarle. In 2014, she joined the staff team as Communications & Cultural Plan Coordinator. She is passionate about the power of the arts to contribute to sustainable, vibrant communities built around a shared sense of place. She holds an M.A. in Public Humanities from Brown University.

Amie Whittemore

Amie Whittemore
Office Manager

Amie graduated from Southern Illinois University Carbondale with an MFA in Poetry. Prior to her work with PCA, she spent several years in secondary and post-secondary education, serving as an English teacher, tutor, and tutoring coordinator at various points. Her poems have been published in a variety of national literary magazines, including Gettysburg Review, Sycamore Review, New World Writing, and elsewhere. In her spare time, she writes, hikes, and gardens.

Board of Directors

George Beller, President
Blake Caravati
James Carnes, Treasurer
Robert Chevalier
Tom Cogill
Julian Connolly
Arletta Dimberg, Secretary
Bobbi Dunn, Vice President
Alex George
Erica Goldfarb
Tullia Lynch
Nina Ozbey
Susan Payne
Donna Plasket
Jean Wilhelm, Board Member Emeritus
Bryan Wright

View Board Member Bios